India: spiritual journeys and natural disasters

Going the distance

When preparing to go to India, my teacher gave me this piece of advice: “Wherever you go in India, plan on surrender – leave all expectations at the door.” Nothing could have been truer.

In June this year, as my life in Hong Kong was coming to its end, I was looking to be taken out of my comfort zone. Work was all but finished and with my boyfriend busy, I was bored out of my brains, surviving – almost literally – on a diet of two or three yoga classes a day.

Having found therapy and friends through yoga, I wanted to share this with others. But running all over the city, trying to fit in endless rounds of classes was, I knew, keeping me from finding lasting peace. I hoped that a month in an ashram in the Himalayas would bring back the balance I was craving and…

View original post 2,868 more words

One thought on “India: spiritual journeys and natural disasters

  1. Pingback: I gotta feeling about this… | Going the distance

Leave a Reply

